top of page

I am home

I can hardly believe that three weeks ago today, I landed back in Cumbria after a most fulfilling and amazing year. I have recalled the guidance issued in pre departure training when we were advised that no matter how happy the placement absolutely everybody goes down emotionally at some time. Well I certainly bucked the trend as that didn't happen to me. Yes, I was frustrated at times, tired on other occasions but never did I go on that threatened emotional roller coaster. There was so much joy in my life created by all those wonderful people I met and worked with.

Malawi has been ranked the world's third poorest country and I was working in one of its poorest parts but I worked with people who are so much richer than we in the west in oh so many ways. Money certainly isn't everything

I have returned to an emotionally warm Kendal where those personal qualities I saw in my Malawian friends are here in my UK friends too. How lucky am I.


bottom of page