top of page

And I was feeling sorry for myself


Yesterday I needed to get myself to a school about two miles away from where I am living. I needed to be there for 1pm and it was hot. (I later discovered it was 41C). Anyway I made the decision that it would be easier to cycle than to walk and I started the journey wearing clothes that protected my arms and legs from the sun but they made me feel even hotter. It was so hot and I began to feel sorry for myself until I saw a great long queue of people queuing for food. It seems that in the village of Chirunga there is a scheme whereby providing the locals maintain the roads the Government will make food drops from time to time. It was so humbling to see this great snake like queue where people stood in the searing heat for hours for food. Marian stop moaning I said!


bottom of page